Project of the Day: Shell Coaster

Image

So this post is exciting for me, but I can’t tell you why. In a few days, I’ll be making an announcement that any true crafter/home decorator will understand is an exciting one. 🙂  In the meantime, here is my latest “refashioning” project.

Shell Coasters

Materials:

Old coasters (I used ceramic ones I got for about $5 at Walmart a million years ago.)

Twine (My motto: there is nothing in the world not made better with twine!)

Shells (The flatish circular ones are best.)

Hot glue gun

Scissors

Step one: Wrap the coaster

Glue the twine around the outside of the coaster. Depending on the height of the coaster, you may need to wrap it two or three times.

Image

Step two: Glue on the Shells

Glue… on the… shells.  (I feel like I’m insulting your intelligence in this post. It’s really as obvious as it looks. Take stuff, glue it together. That’s about the gist of it. :))

Image

Seriously, though. I started with the outside edge and worked inward so that I wouldn’t end up with gaps. Once I had glued on the larger shells, I added the smaller ones to fill in any major holes.

Image

That’s about it! See? Really simple. 🙂

Stay tuned this week for my exciting announcement! I can’t wait.

And as always, if you want some loveliness and don’t have the time/inclination/hot glue to make your own, support this starving artist at my Etsy store. 🙂

Speak Your Mind

