The Minimalist Wardrobe Challenge

I know this isn’t craft related, but I need some support for my new project.

So I’m going to do something wild. Not permanently, just to try. For the remainder of October, I’m going to put away all of my clothes, with the exception of the following:

One short-sleeved black shirt

*One long-sleeved black or gray shirt

One black or gray sweater

One pair of blue jeans

*One pair of black pants

One black tank top

One pair of black workout shorts

One pair of tennis shoes

One pair of black boots

One pair of flip-flops

*One black dress

I will keep my accessories (scarves, tights, hats, gloves) and my underclothes (bras, socks, etc).

*These are things I don’t currently own, and probably should anyway!

My goal is to get to a place where I can live on just these staples and accessorize adequately to keep people from realizing that I’m wearing the same thing all the time! I’m going to do some research on the best way to hand wash things so that I’m not doing laundry every other day.

So you’re probably asking yourself why I’m putting myself through this. Simply, I want to learn to live on less. I believe that it is possible to dress both functionally and professionally without owning a million articles of clothing. I’d like to prove it to myself. I get too attached to what I own – it’s time to nip that in the bud. 🙂

Tomorrow I’m going to Goodwill to pick up the items I don’t already own. I’ll keep you all updated on how I do.

Here goes nothing… 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Minimalist Wardrobe Challenge

  1. This is a great idea!!! I think I may try this challenge, however I may go with the slightly increased number from the end of challenge 12 items.

Speak Your Mind

