Minimalist Wardrobe Challenge: Minimalist Makeup Bag

Makeup. Oh, how I loathe thee.

Honestly, I’ve always felt that the stuff was more trouble than it’s worth, but sadly I do need it. So today we’ll go through my makeup bag and I’ll demonstrate my different “looks.” Ta-da!

Here I am without makeup:

Image

Hello!

This is how I spend the majority of my days. Mostly because I stay locked in my apartment most of the time now. Yes, I am going mad. So.

When I do venture out, to avoid traumatizing the masses, I wear these:

Image

Estee Lauder brush-on Illuminator in Soft Pink

Revlon Color-stay eyeliner crayon in Cocoa/Taupe

and Burt’s Bees lip balm (which definitely stays in my pocket 24/7. You know how it is. 🙂 )

When I use the illuminator, I only apply it under my eyes, in the creases at the bottom of my nose, and on any major – ahem – blemishes. Today is a great day to pop up on my cheek and wave hello to all my readers, apparently.

Image

Me, enjoying applying makeup. Whooooo.

And here’s how I look with all that junk on:

Image

Doo-dee-doo.

Okay, but sometimes there are really big, super exciting events like weddings, and girls’ nights, and the last day of a period. And those days call for the whole enchilada:

Previously mentioned, AND

Great Lash by Maybelline mascara in Blink of Blue

Fit Me by Maybelline New York blush in Light Rose

and L.A. Colors lipstick in Lucious Wine (Yes, the stuff you can get at Dollar Tree. It’s got Aloe Vera and wears like a dream!)

Image

I’m adorable! Ta-da!

Okay, adorable’s a strong word, but I’m much less scary and that’s a job well done.

So there you have it. My minimalist makeup bag. Of course, like everything, this list will get shorter over time, but for now, I’m pretty stoked to only have 6 items in my face kit. 🙂

Oh! Seven items, technically. I almost forgot my favorite bit of wearing makeup:

Image

Not wearing makeup.

Speak Your Mind

