Apartment: Bathroom

I wanted to start with this room because it’s the smallest. Unless you count closets and storage… which maybe I do. Huh. Well, we’ll see how that goes. Anyway. I did the bathroom first. So.

This one is not as easy as it sounds at first. This bathroom is tiny, and since it’s the only bathroom in our apartment, it was really important to me to keep it as clean and clutter-free as possible. There’s a tendency in one-bathroom apartments for the counters to look like a private bathroom, with toiletries and towels everywhere. I had to start with getting rid of as much as possible. This part of the process has been ongoing for me for about three years, and I finally have reached a point where I can comfortably hide all of my personal stuff and make my bathroom look lovely and… well, empty. 🙂

I wanted this bathroom to only have one dominant color, so that the decor didn’t cause chaos. I went with this pretty dodger blue. The Finding Nemo picture was a gift from my sister-in-law, and pulls the color from the floor mats really well. I also made the “la vie boheme” painting over the sink. Everything else (curtain, towels, etc) is black and white.

My first priority was the sink. It’s small, but not unmanageably so. I knew I wanted to keep our toothbrushes out. It feels more sanitary than putting them in a drawer or cabinet. It’s probably not, but I feel like it is. 🙂 So into a Bell jar they went. I keep the toothpaste and mouthwash there as well, so it’s all in one place. Right now I keep liquid store-bought soap on the counter, but I’ll be making my own bar soap pretty soon. The only other thing on the counter is a tiny reed diffuser to keep things smelling purdy. 🙂

The shower is a little more private, because of the curtain, but I still wanted it to be streamlined and organized. Soap in the soap dish, obviously, but that’s where conventionality ends. I finagled a shampoo holder to hang from the towel bar.  Who uses the towel bar inside the shower, anyway? How does that make sense?

I hung the crate on its side because I discovered that the water pools in the bottom. I’ll try to drill holes in the bottom and rearrange pretty soon. This’ll work for now. I like how our razors fit nicely in the top. 🙂

Under the sink was the big monster. I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out.

I’ve made a list of everything I kept. I know it’s pretty long, and I’ll not be offended if you skip the next bit. For those of you following my goals, you’ll see how important it is to me to carefully select every item in this room.

1. Items we use fairly regularly:

Hair dye

DH’s face cleanser

DH’s shaving cream

Apple cider vinegar

Hydrogen peroxide

Extra razors and blades

Q-tips

Ring box

DH’shair wax

Ibuprophen

2. Items we use less frequently:

Feminine products

First aid (band-aids, antibiotic ointment, allergy medicine, gauze, rubbing alcohol)

Saline solution and extra glasses

DH’s insulin syringes

Sunblock

Lint roller

3. Larger items

Jewelry box

Hair supplies bag (bobby pins, elastics, headbands, barrettes)

Bath salts

Hair spray

Hair dryer

Thermal pad

4. Toilet bowl brush

5. Plunger

6. Extra toilet paper (duh)

With regard to hygiene and beauty, if it isn’t under this counter, we don’t need it.

Well, with a small exception. Remember that little box on the back of the toilet? Behold, my pièce de résistance:

Here’s what that little cutie contains:

This is my entire makeup and nail collection, with a couple of other daily-use items. It’s my one-stop shop for getting ready in the morning. Wanna guess how many minutes I spend getting ready now? Here’s a hint: you can count them on your fingers. 🙂

And that, friends, is a thing of beauty. 🙂

Ta-da!

Speak Your Mind

