Food, Fasting, Jen Hatmaker, and Lent (Shana)

Hello there, Tshirts&Twine fans! I am Shana, and I am so excited to be a part of this wonderful endeavor with Amanda. (For those of you who have been following the blog, Amanda is Molly). The whole point of Tshirts&Twine is to learn to live simply. There are lots of ways to do this. For example, Amanda went down to only 12 items of clothes. I lightened the load on my closet (not to 12, though!), but I wanted to find a way to really sink this idea in deep. I recently read 7: an experimental mutiny against excess by Jen Hatmaker. In the book, she takes 7 months to focus on reducing in 7 different areas. The first month, Jen picked 7 different foods, and that is all she ate for that month. If I can admit something, the thing in my life that I have the least control of is food. There are three things that I feel like I could just eat forever: sugar, cheese, and chocolate! Its maybe not the healthiest diet ever. Well, so in reading Jen Hatmaker, I decided that perhaps it was time that I took control of my eating, and not let it control me, because if food controls me, that is an area of my life that I am not allowing God to control. (Yes, as I am writing this, I realize that I am very thankful for a great metabolism.) So I decided to jump in and pick 9 foods that I will eat during the season of Lent, which starts this Wednesday.

Lent is a season for Christian believers where they prepare themselves for the holiest of holidays, Easter. Lent lasts approximately 40 days in remembrance of the 40 days that Jesus fasted in the wilderness in preparation for his ministry. During Lent, the believer prepares themselves for celebrating Jesus’ death and resurrection through prayer and fasting. I figured that this would be a very appropriate time to learn the discipline of fasting. Like I said before, I’m not so great at all this stuff. But I do know that God has been extremely faithful in my life, especially in the past year, and I know that he will be faithful in this.

I won’t lie, I’m a little nervous. Giving up certain foods is a challenge for me; to give up all but a few feels like I might be giving up some of my best friends (especially chocolate. I love chocolate, pretty much in all forms). But I know that this is an area of my life that I need to hand over and not allow to control me any more. It will totally take more thought that I am normally used to putting into my food (thankfully, my husband does a lot of the cooking in our home.), and so I will have to get used to that. However, I have already seen one benefit of a simpler menu. In going to the grocery store tonight, picking up what I needed didn’t take any time at all. When you only eat 9 things, grocery shopping is so much easier!

Finally, here is my list of foods:

  • Eggs
  • Chicken
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Spinach
  • Apples
  • Avocados
  • Whole Wheat, Homemade, or Rice Bread
  • Activia
  • Soy Milk (GMO Free!)

I am also allowing for salt and garlic (I can’t stand pepper) and olive oil.  Think what you will, but I’m not trying to completely torture myself!  Well, wish me luck! I am looking forward to the things that I am going to learn through this, and I can’t wait to share along the way. I would also love to hear about anything you are doing right now to simplify your life!

S

Speak Your Mind

