Side Note: Growth

So I’m reading Jen Hatmaker’s Seven: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess. Yowza.

Besides being a funny and engaging author, Jen has a real gift for drawing you into her journey. This is a really special level of sharing. Where many authors succeed in talking “at” their audience, and a few even manage to get their audience to talk back, she makes you feel like you’re experiencing the process right along with her. I’m amazed.

Anyway, I’m reading Seven, and beginning to think pretty deeply. I’m a pretty introspective person anyway, but if my usual introspective thoughts are crackers, I’m currently chowing down on steak.

Have you ever felt like you should be… I don’t know… further along? Like, with everything you’ve seen and learned and done, you should be a better or wiser person than you are? I feel like the last several books I’ve picked up have actually been a couple of steps behind me. I found Jen’s book several months into my own experimental mutiny. Every mentor or counselor I’ve chatted with recently has talked about things I’m already learning/have already conquered (I think). Even listening in church, I find myself checking off mental listsΒ  – “Yup. Been there, learned that. Next?”

Now please don’t get me wrong. I certainly don’t feel like I’ve arrived. (And as a general rule, believing that you have is a sure sign that you haven’t.) But I just don’t feel challenged. I do know better than to wish for a new mountain to tackle, but I also hope that my current “maturity upgrade” would make itself more clearly known. In the meantime, I can’t shake the feeling that I should have moved on by now.

That is all. Thank you for attending my stream-of-consciousness jam session.

10 thoughts on “Side Note: Growth

  1. Hey sweetie, yeah I know what you mean, and I like to think of those times (where you’re kind of on top of things & have a feeling of ‘yeah I’ve learned that – what next?) as being ‘downtime’ before any major life change happens again & you’ve got to fit all your learning into a new perspective.

    Sometimes we get these kind of plateau times & please embrace it, because they never last forever. Now’s a good time for you to just enjoy things as they are because it’s probable they’ll only be as they are for awhile.

    It’s natural to yearn for more learning … & it’ll happen but now sounds like the time to smell the roses to take delight in things you usually overlook to be able to focus on your learning πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for this! You have a great perspective. πŸ™‚
      I do have a tendency to believe that if I’m not moving forward, I’m missing something, or not doing something right.
      I think you’re right, though. I’ll try to just relax and take things as they come. Thanks again!

      • No worries, I had about a year or so in that space & I honestly think the best thing I did during that time was rest & relax. Because when big change happens its usually super busy for awhile & you can carry on knowing your body is well rested & looked after!! πŸ™‚

  2. At times when life is seemingly quiet, I start to feel anxious, almost worried that the next “maturity upgrade” as you put it so well, might not come soon enough. This post has me really thinking. Thank you! (I love Jen Hatmaker, too!)

  3. I agree totally with Fiona, but I would add that having the insight and introspection to realize that this is just a plateau is difficult to realize. It takes practice. I have found that saying, “Wow, I seem to get this” is just another way of telling the universe that you are reading for another lesson. I have come to a point where when I have those moments I sometimes cringe and take a deep breath because I know what is coming next! LOL Kinda like the flat parts on a rollercoaster ride. πŸ™‚

Speak Your Mind

