Quick Question: Best and worst simple living advice?

Happy April 1st! On an internet consumed with April Fools’ Day jokes, pranks, and gags, you can feel safe here. I promise, no funny business. I have no discernible sense of humor.

I do have a million questions, however, and I think you all can help me find some answers!

When we set out to live more simply – whether that means downsizing our possessions and living situation, restructuring our spending, or overhauling our schedules – it seems like other people just come out of the woodwork to offer us their wisdom (ahem). I’ve heard it all, from the classic “don’t sell that! You might need it later!” to the slightly more niche “if you own more than 100 things, you can’t really call yourself a minimalist.” While some advice can be hugely helpful, some of it can be an equally big pain.

So here’s my first question:

What is the best simple living advice you’ve ever been given?

What is the worst?

Let me know in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Quick Question: Best and worst simple living advice?

  1. I never got such advises, but I moved 1000 times to different apartments, cities, countries, in usual circumstances for usual reasons, as well as in absolutely unexpected situations. What i learned from this experience is that home is where you fell it, and beloved people are always with us – in our heart. I cannot call myself minimalist, but if in 15 minutes i have to leave my place forever and move somewhere else, all dearest and important things will be packed in 5 minutes in one medium-size suitcase. The rest i can leave without sorrow 🙂

    • I love it! There are very few people who could pack a single suitcase and walk away from everything else. Well done! Even though you don’t claim the title “minimalist,” that kind of mindset definitely reflects some of the biggest values associated with simple living.

  2. Best: eat more simple foods. The less you have to cook it before it goes in your mouth, the healthier it is. (I am NOT a raw foodist, though, not even close)

    Worst: that I can replace anything from eggs to roasted turkey with tofu. Nope, simple food is NOT that simple, haha! At least not for me. 😉

    • Haha! I know what you mean, there. I really struggle with tofu. I’m too much of a consistency-oriented person to really appreciate it. But the simple foods advice is great. I have a friend who tried to go raw vegan recently, but only for a week. She said it was an amazing detox, but she couldn’t do that forever. 🙂

  3. The thing I’ve noticed most about the minimalist community is there is no real requirement. Minimalism is adaptable to any situation. In one sentence, I would say it’s removing things from your life that don’t add significant emotional/spiritual value in the present. Focusing on the actual rather than the potential 🙂

  4. Best advice given: “If you haven’t used it in 6 months – give it away, sell it, do something with it. Its just a THING. Things come and go, and come again when you need them. I live by it!”

    Worst: “Less is More. If you want more of something – get less. And get more of that.” – It tends to confuse the crap out of people. They don’t have the time I’ve had to think things through… haha

  5. What is the best simple living advice you’ve ever been given?
    Luke 9:23 – And Jesus was saying to them all, “If anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross daily and follow Me.
    Also Hebrews 12:1.

    What is the worst?
    “You are enough” or anything else that puts the focus on self.

Speak Your Mind

