How apropos: A Sunshine Award!

SunshineAward

This week Greenville received its first taste of spring. We got sunshine and warm(ish?) temperatures yesterday and Sunday. I think we’re finally on the right track! And along with this glorious change is a special honor. Sian of To Fethiye and Beyond… nominated me for The Sunshine Award! Why? Because she’s the best, of course. 🙂

Here are the criteria for accepting this sweet badge:

  • Include the award’s logo in a post or on your blog.
  • Answer 10 questions about yourself.
  • Nominate up to 10 other fabulous bloggers.
  • Link your nominees to this post and comment on their blog, letting them know they have been nominated.
  • Share the love and link the person who nominated you.

One of the best parts about these awards is that I get to read other bloggers’ answers to the questions. If you haven’t read Sian’s responses, click the link above and do that. I’ll wait.

Did you enjoy her answers? I thought you would. I did too. Here are mine:

What inspired you to start blogging?

Initially, Tshirts & Twine was a craft blog. I’ve always been a creative person, and I needed an outlet. I had hopes that one day I’d blog professionally. While my content has changed somewhat, that dream has not.

How did you come up with the name for your blog?

I do a lot of upcycling and repurposing. I found early on that one of my favorite things to do is upcycle tshirts. Tshirts can be repurposed in a ton of ways and made into bags, jewelry, even yarn for knitting! I also am obsessed with twine – particularly jute. I love how sturdy and reliable it is. I decorate with it too. For me, those two things represent innovation and sustainability.

What is your favourite blog that you like to read?

I don’t have a single favorite blog, but I spend a lot of time on the Reader browsing through home, minimalist, simplicity, and sustainability blogs. If a blog focuses on helping me to be a better person, or making the world a better place, I’m a fan.

Tell us about your dream job:

In my dream future, I’m a life coach, an author, a blogger (still), an actress, a successful entrepreneur (see my startup here!), a traveler, a speaker, a designer, and a mom. In a nutshell, I wanna do it all.

Is your glass half full or half empty?

I’m over the glass. I don’t even have a glass anymore. It’s more like a kite. Or a salamander. Or a really great pineapple.

If you could go anywhere for a week’s holiday where would it be?

Mmm… just one place? Right now, it would be St. Augustine, FL. That’s here my hubby and I went on our honeymoon, and we’ve been dying to go back ever since. It’s quaint and relatively quiet, but also really near the beach!

What food can you absolutely not eat?

Mexican cuisine. I used to love it, but one unfortunate meal at a Mexican restaurant put me through hell for 48 hours straight, and now I can’t even smell it without gagging. Never. Again.

Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

Dark, but not too much. I’m not terribly into sweet things.

How much time do you spend blogging?

I’ll be honest, it’s easily 8 hours a day. I spend most of my day writing, whether it be on screenplays for our new web series, the books I’m working on, or stuff for Tshirts & Twine. I love every second of it!

Do you watch TV – if so what are some of your favourite TV shows?

I don’t have TV per se, but I subscribe to Netflix and Hulu. I love all the geeky stuff: Doctor Who, The Big Bang Theory, Sherlock, Buffy, Angel, Firefly, Dollhouse (anything by Joss Whedon, really), sitcoms like The Office (both UK and US), Psych, New Girl, and dramas such as Downton Abbey and The Walking Dead. I grew up in a home that was never silent, so there’s usually something playing in the background from the moment I wake until the moment I fall asleep, but I don’t always watch. I just like the noise.

My Sunshine Awards go to…

Gallivance – I know you two just got nominated for one of these, but I have to second that nomination! Your lifestyle makes me want so much more from my life. Thanks for broadening my horizons.

Commit2Twenty – You got me to start exercising again. That puts you on a VERY short list of amazing people. Thanks for the inspiration!

Extra Shot in the Dark – Feels, what can I say? I’m SO glad we’ve reconnected. Thanks for brightening my news feed, and for not apologizing for who you are.

101 Dress – Irina, bridging the gap between gorgeous fashion and responsible consumerism is a very tough task. You’ve stepped up to the plate, and I think you’ll do amazing things!

And like my nominator, I’m stopping with four. 🙂

8 thoughts on “How apropos: A Sunshine Award!

  1. This is quite unexpected… Thank you very much, Amanda! 🙂 Wat i can say is that you really deserve this nomination – your blog is very inspiring, and i cannot even imagine how much work, in both writing and inner changes – is behind it… Thumbs up!

  2. Congratulations on your award Amanda! What a fascinating gathering of people you’ve assembled. We are touched and honored to be included in such eminent company. Many thanks. Can’t wait to check out all these enticing blogs.

    Please follow this link to our Awards Page to see our personal response and Thank You.
    Wishing you all the best, Terri & James
    http://gallivance.net/about/

  3. Thank you so much! I finally finished and have posted my responses to the Sunshine Award! Between you and me, I have begun thinking of you as my “big sister” in blogging. (Even though I am probably several years older.) Guiding me a bit through this blogging process and consistently encouraging a level of introspection I haven’t allowed myself in years. In addition, your quest to live simply is truly inspiring and something my husband and I aspire to do, but haven’t yet figured out with three kids. I look forward to your posts daily!

    • Thank you so much! This is both humbling and encouraging. 🙂 I’ve really loved getting to follow your blog and become involved with the commit2twenty movement!

      “…something my husband and I aspire to do, but haven’t yet figured out with three kids.”
      It’s funny you mention that. I’m at a distinct disadvantage regarding simplicity in that I can’t speak to it as a mother (yet!). If and when you and your husband start to move further toward simplicity, I’d love to get your unique viewpoint on it!

Speak Your Mind

