Dreams

Hello WordPress friends! Oh, how I missed you yesterday! Okay, that’s half true. I did miss you, but I couldn’t go all day without replying to the beautiful comments you all left on my posts. I’m a failure at taking a day off. Oh well.

Anyway, as I mentioned before, I’m working my way through Jenny Blake’s Life After College: The Complete Guide to Getting What You Want. Near the beginning of the book, Jenny describes her process of staying motivated to compete a big goal. One of the little things she did was to create a mock magazine cover (featuring herself) as if she had completed the goal and was being interviewed about it. She taped the cover to her mirror so that she would see it every day and stay motivated.

I loved this idea, obviously, because it’s brilliant AND requires the use of photoshop. Ta-da! So I made one of my own.

My magazine cover is designed as an issue printed one year from today. Here are the goals/dreams I hope to have completed by then:

Book(s): I’m actually working on two books right now. Both are about Simple Living. One is from a Christian perspective, the other is not. I’d love to have both complete in the next year.

Web series: Without disclosing too much info, my husband is in the early stages of writing a really fantastic web series. I’m producing and will be a part of the main cast. We’re so excited to get started!

Life coach certification: One of my biggest goals right now is to become a certified life coach. My biggest obstacle to this is money (but anyone willing to chip in would be fantastic! Anyone? No? Okay. ;))

The blog: This one has several pieces to it. I would like to develop some new series, including more minimalist makeup stuff, some exercise info, guest posts from world travelers (this one is already in the works), more info about IJM and Not for Sale, and some neat contests for my readers!

The expo: This is by far the largest undertaking of the list. I want to develop, organize, and host the first (to my knowledge) Living Simply expo. I’m talking big venue, booths, food, and speakers from all over talking about simplicity, minimalism, and health. I know it’s ambitious, but I love this community, and I’d be over the moon to see us all in one place for a weekend. That would just be the coolest!

So, without further ado, here is my cover (don’t judge  – I’m new to this.):

cover

What do you think?

11 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. Niiiiiiice!!!!!! When it will be published in 100 copies or more, i want a copy, may i? 🙂 Pleeeeease :))))
    Couple of weeks ago i was in deep depression about lack of money and other usual depressing stuff… So i tried to imagine what i would do this year if i would have a loooot of money and not troubles at all. In the beginning it was difficult to let my imagination freely go. But the most amazing, pleasant and beautiful thing was when i discovered that i would be doing exactly the same what i am doing now. And suddenly i realized how happy and lucky i am 🙂 I am happy for you, that you have your goals and dreams and have possibility, time, energy, persistence and courage to got for them. Good luck in that! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! It is the best feeling in the world to be fulfilled by your work. I can honestly say that I make no money at all currently, and that should probably frighten me… but I can’t bring myself to be frightened! I know that everything will work out fine if I pursue what I was born to do. 🙂

  2. This is sooo cool!! I don’t have photo shop but I might have to purchase it to do cool things like this!! 🙂 Im supposed to be writing a book whilst I’m in LA on my travels but I haven’t quite got my butt in gear yet. Seeing your motivation has motivated me to think more seriously about it,xxx

Speak Your Mind

