That Minimalist Roommate: The Tour

I’ve finally gotten around to snapping some pics of the new living space. Wanna see? Of course you do! πŸ˜‰

This is the view from the door.

Piano

And to the right.

table

This is the closet. Oh yeah, and that blue? This entire room was that color when we moved in. Needless to say it was a little overwhelming. I like the color though, so we left a stripe on two walls and this as an accent wall. Much better. πŸ™‚

Closed doors

And my books!

Books

Here’s my favorite design bit. Notice there’s no bed? It’s in the closet!

Bed Out

On the right are Jack’s clothes (in the baskets) and shoes, as well as all of our hanging things.

Jack's side

And the left side is my clothes and shoes, along with a lamp and my bear.

My side

During the day, the bed and sleeping pad roll up so I can close the doors.

Bed In

Ta-da!

Oh yes, and a few decor-y touches…

photo 2 bottles Boxes photo 2(3)

And if you’ve ever wondered where I write my masterpieces (amateurpieces?), here ya go:

photo 1(3)

Update: I answered some FAQs about my space here!

28 thoughts on “That Minimalist Roommate: The Tour

  1. I enjoyed a peek into your home. I’m not sure I would enjoy the bed situation, I enjoy my mattress too much. I love your trunk, looks like bamboo? I’ve never seen anything like it.

  2. Love the (minimized) blue. How did you do that with your books? That’s really cool. I’m not sure I could do that with the bed either, but I love the way it rolls up into the closet.

  3. Impressed with the minimalism. How did you do the books? That’s awesome!! I also like the blue stripe…I would have gone into a Color Coma if I walked into a whole room that color. lol.

  4. Narnia made the cut for your books! Very cool πŸ™‚ I should probably go around and do something like this with my house- it’s not as minimalist as yours, but for a family of five I don’t have much stuff πŸ™‚ My husband’s room in the basement is a different story though…

  5. I love your minimal space – it’s what I aspire to! — and the book arrangement, as others mentioned. (Thanks for the link on that) That’s a really neat ‘masterpiece’ photo by the window, with sunbeams.

  6. I love it! Every so often I go into a purging mode and move a bunch of ‘stuff’ out of my apartment, in an attempt to open it up and make more use of less space. About a month ago, I had my 1953 Cable Nelson upright piano removed . . . and I’m still practically wall to wall furniture in this room. It drives me crazy, because I am in a wheelchair, and I use that as an excuse to have a place for everything, and everything in its place. I don’t share that I have a bit of OCD along with all my other psychoses.

    • Furniture can make all the difference sometimes. Even if a room has almost nothing else, too much furniture can have a claustrophobic effect. I’m glad that you can stay organized though, and your periodic purges help I’m sure!

  7. I love your space and wish i could get away with that. unfortunately we rent and not sure how happy the landlord would be but something i hope to aspire to one day. may have to try the floating bookshelves though. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • This was the first time we have ever been able to paint a rented space, so I know how you feel. :/ theborrowedabode.com has some really neat decor ideas for renters, though!

  8. What a beautiful, peaceful space you have created. I love your piano especially…I miss mine so much as I am living overseas. Thanks for sharing your home πŸ™‚

  9. I really love this post!! So much that I’ve come back to look at it a few times over the last week, which is saying something because I’ve been pretty busy!!

    So… I have some questions:
    1. What clothes do you own??
    2. Where do you keep your underwear? Surely those two baskets don’t contain all your clothes & underwear?? (I’m a little in shock/awe)
    3. I love love love your bed!! Where is it from??
    4. Where do you keep your paperwork?? Like insurance /medical records etc??
    5. Love the books… Thanks for the link!!
    6. Where do you keep your spare bedding/bath towels/wash stuff??

    I could go on but I won’t for now,xx
    Love this post πŸ™‚ xxx

  10. Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group
    of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the
    same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information
    to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

Speak Your Mind

