Living Simply: Chasing Talent

Sometimes prioritizing can be a lot easier when we decide how spend our time based on what we’re good at, rather than trying to figure out which of the 1,000 we like to do should get done first. For example, I love reading, writing, teaching piano, watching movies, making homemade beauty products, climbing, hanging out with my dude, and doing yoga (among a few others). Choosing which of these claims my free time can be a tough task. But when I focus more on my talents, and let the rest fall where it may, I find my days become more productive and fulfilling. By channeling my energy first toward things that I see as personal improvement rather than just entertainment helps me feel like I’m using my time more wisely.

For example, I recently discovered that I’m pretty good at learning languages. I picked up Signed English pretty quickly, and am learning ASL now. I’ve also revisited Spanish for the first time since high school and I’m loving it. I can see myself improving quickly, and I know that becoming multilingual will definitely come in handy in the future. And 20 minutes of Spanish vocab practice feels much more rewarding than a 20 minute tv show!

Bonus? By using more of my free time on things that I value highly, I naturally have to weed out time-wasters. Let’s just say Angry Birds doesn’t get a lot of love these days, but I really haven’t missed it!

If you prioritized your free time by your talents, how would your days be different?

3 thoughts on “Living Simply: Chasing Talent

  1. Yeah, years ago I had an addiction to cable TV and World of Warcraft. Giving up both was way harder than actually living without both. I don’t miss them at all, nor did I for even the tiniest amount of time after I actually ditched them. 😉

    • A lack of funds saved us from WoW, but we once in a while renew our subscriptions just for a month. Isn’t it amazing how we don’t even miss these things after a while?

  2. I too have given up all the things that drained my time, and miss not a one. I now have time to read, paint, take leisurely strolls, garden, visit with friends and loved ones.

Speak Your Mind

