Living Simply: “Don’t Sell Yourself Short”

I feel like I have heard this a LOT recently. Everyone from my husband to potential business associates seem to be under the impression that I need a higher opinion of my talents and abilities.

Come on, I’m already beautiful, funny, and classy. I need a healthy dose of humility just to keep this adorable head at the perfect size.

But in all seriousness, there are a lot of things I want to pursue that I just don’t. The reasons vary, but they generally center around statements like these:

“I should be a published author before I take on that project.”

“I need my Life Coach certification before I try helping people.”

“No one will listen to me while I’m so young.”

Here’s the thing, though: my life is not going to slow down. I don’t want to sit around and do nothing until I feel “ready” (whatever that means). I know I’m not going to get everything right the first time. I might fail a LOT. I might look back on my life in ten years and be embarrassed at my own immaturity. But I’ve got to try.

So in the next few days I’ll be making some announcements. I have a few projects I’ll be unveiling and I’m so excited. Some of these are ready to go, and others are just ideas right now, but I want the accountability of telling you all what I’m doing. I think it’ll make some of these conceptual projects more real, too.

So here we go, ready or not!

We are always getting ready to live but never living.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

What parts of your life have you postponed because you don’t feel ready?

6 thoughts on “Living Simply: “Don’t Sell Yourself Short”

  1. I’ve postponed being a “real writer” until I had more impressive credentials. I recently decided to throw myself out there despite only being half-way through a Bachelor’s Degree and with no professional experience, and have run into some great opportunities for growth as a writer that I wouldn’t have found had I sat around wishing and dreaming.

    You have so much talent and drive, I think you are definitely on the right track!!

  2. Being open and public about my gifts as a healer, psychic and medium. I postponed it for ages & every so often I feel the desire to hold myself back mostly with mediumship because I know I’ll be better in a decade but sometimes it’s cool just to live & work from where we’re at and just live 🙂

    Go for it sweetie,xx

  3. I am with you! I often don’t do as much as I’d like to because I feel like I need to have a parent coaching certification or need to be older or more published before anyone will want to read/listen to me. I also postpone the possibilities because I get do busy doing in the moment that I don’t make time to plan what comes next. Thanks for this post. Great encouragement to put myself out there and rearrange my schedule to write some articles and plan some curricula!

Speak Your Mind

