Living Simply: Passion

No, not that kind of passion. πŸ˜‰

I’ve recently picked up a long-forgotten project (yes, another one), this time with my husband. We’re co-writing a novel that has been bouncing around in the back of our minds for nearly two years. Before now, Jack and I have never written anything together. We’re very different, creatively speaking, and when we have tried in the past, we’ve gotten frustrated and given up in the outline phase.

This time, we’ve tried something different (I’ll talk about that in tomorrow’s Forest Four the Trees post) and it’s turned a previously failed experiment into a smashing success. In seven days we’ve cranked out [update!] 30,000 words. It’s been one of my favorite weeks ever. Every morning I wake up thinking about this story, and every night I go to sleep plotting the next day’s scenes. My vocabulary is expanding again. I feel sharper and more creative.

Sometimes it’s hard to notice when I’m not engaging my passions. Howard Thurman wrote β€œDon’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” Following our passions and doing what makes us feel alive will almost always make the world a better place.

When was the last time you got caught up in your passion?

9 thoughts on “Living Simply: Passion

  1. Like yourself, I love to share my experiences through the written and spoken word. Maybe it doesn’t pay the bills (yet ;-)), but it creates a sense of purpose and interconnectedness with the people around us and makes me come alive in all facets of my life. Thanks for the great reminder to live simply and do what you love. It’s a great mantra to live by πŸ™‚

  2. Wow that’s fantastic! Not only are you getting fulfillment from being productive but also bonding with your husband, doing something you’re both are getting ‘satisfaction’ πŸ˜‰ from. *happy days*

  3. A co-authored book sounds wonderful…congrats on the project you two and all the best with the outcome. I follow my passion every day as a guitar teacher and performing musician. I also dabble in writing on the side and am very grateful for being able to live my life simply and intentionally πŸ™‚ Take care and really enjoying your blog! All the best.

    Lyle

  4. For a long time, I didn’t know I even had a passion. But I’ve found it. I either play or create music with my guitar. When I was diagonsed almost 6 years ago, I stopped doing everything. After a short while I quit walking, as I was falling more and more often. But mostly, I gave up on my music. I got rid of my piano, (I needed more wheelchair room), and I just sat here. It wasn’t until I took a trip to Texas last Christmas, that the old urge started to stir. My brother told me about a website that taught you to play guitar, and it was free unless you wanted to buy his book of music, which I did. I have never regretted that decision. My playing has gotten so much better than it ever was, and I try to play every day, unless the humidity is too high. And I love every minute that I spend with my guitar.

    • Hi vanbenschoten – That’s so awesome that you found your voice again on the guitar πŸ™‚ As a guitar teacher, performer and just a big ol’ fan of the guitar I can relate with the joy you feel daily being able to play it. Keep it up and it will be a life long friend πŸ™‚ All the best.

      Lyle

Speak Your Mind

