The biggest Live Simply announcement yet.

Hi everyone. I have some news.

It’s not going to sound like good news, but I can promise you it isn’t really bad news, either. All right, enough burying the lead. Here it is:

I’m leaving Live Simply.

This wasn’t a decision I’ve made lightly, and it’s a rather poignant and slightly ironic one. Let me explain. This month’s Jump Off the Ladder challenge was designed to help me re-evaluate my time – how I spend it, how I prioritize, etc. I began fairly strong, but then some big Life Things happened and the challenge fell by the wayside. The last couple of weeks have been pretty hectic and this has allowed many important things to slip through the cracks. Here is what’s interesting about “important things:” sometimes they aren’t nearly as un-drop-able (I’m just making things up now) as they seem at first glance. Right around the time I started dreading having to update on Live Simply, the realization set in that perhaps I shouldn’t voluntarily shackle myself to something I don’t get very much fulfillment from.

Let me be clear: Live Simply has been one of the most amazing, transformational journeys I’ve ever undertaken, and I’m grateful for every moment. But while the lessons and changes I’ve embraced will never leave me, maintaining the blog has become a chapter that must close very soon. I’m moving on – not disappearing, but moving forward, and it’s time to lighten the load.

I’m struggling to create new content that I feel is relevant to the site. I have a ton of ideas for posts and so many things I want to write, but I feel like many of them would be out of context on Live Simply. I need (and will be forming) a new platform that allows me the flexibility to expand. Live Simply will die if I remain at the helm. The nature of the blog (particularly the Jump Off the Ladder challenges) are putting a good bit of pressure on me, time-wise. I struggle to post consistently, and more often than not, I create long stretches between posts.

Since I don’t want to see Live Simply just disappear, I’ll do one of two things with the site:

1. (Plan B) I’ll keep the site active for reference, and occasionally reblog posts for new followers to find.

2. (Plan A) I’ll find someone to take over Live Simply, keeping it clean and well-stocked full of lovely posts and a fresh take.

That said, if you feel you’re up for taking over the blog, please shoot me an email at amanda@tshirtsntwine.com. I’d love to see this site continue, and flourish in a way that it couldn’t under my authorship.

I love you all. I’ve loved chronicling my journey into minimalism and simplicity. I’m immensely grateful for every follower and every view. This isn’t goodbye yet, but it’ll be soon, and the future is looking very exciting!

9 thoughts on “The biggest Live Simply announcement yet.

  1. I don’t mean to “like” as such – I only just got to this site and I’m sad that you’re leaving – your photos and posts have been a real inspiration and motivation for me! But I think its great that you’re embracing new challenges and not committed to staying if you are starting not to enjoy it – you don’t want to feel resentful! So I wish you the best of luck and look forward to hearing about whatever else you choose to blog about : )

  2. Amanda, I know how you feel. I haven’t been able to be as active on my blog either. Will you be starting up a new blog? Or a website, or anything so that we can still follow you and be inspired by you?

    • I am definitely still blogging! My new site is thesparkcollector.wordpress.com. This one will free me up to write about the other facets in my life. I love minimalism and simplicity, but I’m so excited to be able to explore other things in my writing!

Speak Your Mind

